Five Wrestlers Advance To The Second Day Of EIWA Championship

Five Crimson wrestlers move on to the second day of the EIWA Championship (Gil Talbot).
Five Crimson wrestlers move on to the second day of the EIWA Championship (Gil Talbot).

Five Crimson wrestlers move on to the second day of the EIWA Championship (Gil Talbot).

HEMPSTEAD, N.Y. – At the end of the first day of the EIWA Championships, five Harvard wrestlers will be moving on to the second day of competition at the conference tournament. Senior captain Josef Johnson along with sophomores A.J. Jaffe, and Hunter Ladnier lead the way advancing to the consolation quarterfinals at 174, 141, and 149 pounds, respectively.

The trio of Crimson wrestlers won their first matches of the day in the round of 16 to move on to the championship quarterfinals. Johnson (174) defeated Princeton's Matthew Gancayo via a 6-2 decision, before he fell to Ben Harvey of Army 7-5 in the quarterfinals. Johnson stayed alive defeating Brown's Bryce Rogers following a 9-5 decision to move on to the consolation semifinals.

At 141 pounds, Jaffe came out of the gate strong with a 10-0 major decision over Drexel's Julian Flores to advance to the quarterfinals. But, the Illinois native was unable to muster enough points to move on to championship semifinals, falling to Navy's Nicholas Gil via a 5-3 decision. In the consolation round, Jaffe secured a spot on the podium with a commanding 18-2 technical fall over Hofstra's Vinny Vespa.

After finishing second at 149 pounds in last year's EIWA tournament, sophomore Hunter Ladnier picked up where he left off. The Ohio native earned a 10-4 decision over Bucknell's Seth Hogue to move on to the championship quarterfinals, before dropping a 6-3 decision to Lehigh's Cortlandt Schuyler. However, Ladnier kept himself alive to wrestle another day with a 16-4 major decision over Sacred Heart's Alex Harnsberger.

Junior Nolan Hellickson (125) also will be wrestling tomorrow in the consolation quarterfinals, following a 12-1 major decision against Columbia's Spencer Good, and a 6-1 decision over Navy's Aslan Kilic. Freshman Brock Wilson (157) secured a spot on Sunday with a 10-5 decision over Hofstra's Chris Mauriello, and a pin of Cornell's Fredy Stroker (1:59) in the consolation round.  

All five of the competitors remaining will kick off Sunday's action at 10 a.m. The action will be broadcast on FloWrestling.