Women’s Soccer Announces Team Awards at End-of-Year Banquet

Photo by Penny Ashford
Photo by Penny Ashford

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Following a successful 2017 campaign, Harvard women's soccer announced the recipients of its annual team awards at its year-end banquet.

Senior Dani Stollar was the recipient of the Meg Berte Owen '94 Memorial Award, which is given annually to the player that best exemplifies Meg's leadership, work ethic, passion, courage and determination on and off the playing field. Stollar was a key player for Harvard in the midfield and along the back line, and she earned her fourth All-Ivy award during her senior campaign. She was also a CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree.

The Seamus Malin '62 Award, given to the player who has, through the love of the game and commitment to the university, demonstrated the values shown by Malin, was presented to senior Marie Becker. A team captain, Becker anchored a back line that tallied 30 shutouts over her four seasons with the Crimson. Becker was a CoSIDA Academic All-America and All-District selection.

Freshman Chamberlain Mathis was the recipient of the Leslie Gray Pool '83 Memorial Award, which is presented annually to the most improved player on the women's soccer team. Mathis was thrust into action after a series of injuries, and she wound up excelling in 12 games, starting six, along the back line. She helped guide the Crimson to six shutouts on the season.

Harvard posted an 8-8-1 mark over the 2017-18 campaign, led by All-Ivy selections Stollar and freshman Murphy Agnew. Agnew was also honored as the 13th player in program history to be selected the Ivy League Rookie of the Year, as she led the team with 13 points on the season. Junior Leah Mohammadi tied Agnew with a team-leading four goals, while junior Danielle Etzel and sophomore Kat Hess combined for six shutouts in net, with Etzel earning United Soccer Coaches National Player of the Week honors after a 16-save shutout against Columbia.