No. 1 Women's Squash Endures No. 4 Trinity, 5-4, Advances to Howe Cup Final

No. 1 Women's Squash Endures No. 4 Trinity, 5-4, Advances to Howe Cup Final

Karki won the decisive match, sending Harvard to the Howe Cup Final (Gil Talbot).

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - For the eight-straight year, Harvard will vie for the Howe Cup title after holding on against No. 4 Trinity, 5-4, in a Howe Cup semifinal Saturday afternoon at the Brady Squash Center.

Harvard (12-0, 7-0), has squared off against Trinity (12-5) the previous three seasons in the championship match, but found itself facing the Bantams in the semifinals for the first time in four seasons. The Crimson got the upper hand early, racing out to a 4-2 lead before Saumya Karki won the decisive match in the final flight as Harvard held on for the 5-4 victory.

Harvard will compete for its 16th national championship tomorrow against No. 2 Penn. Match time is set for 11 a.m.

Alyssa Mehta and Sophie Mehta earned sweeps in the opening flight as Alyssa notched her 10th win of the season, while Sophie earned her 11th victory to push Harvard to a 2-1 advantage.

Michelle Gemmell and Dileas MacGowan kept the moment going for the Crimson in the second wave as each blanked their opponent, earning their 10th wins of the season to further Harvard's lead to 4-2. 

Needing one more win to send Harvard to the finals, Karki delivered the decisive victory, earning the fifth sweep of the match to seal the victory.


No. 1 Kanzy El Defrawy def. Sabrina Sobhy (H) - 3-0

No. 2 Raneem Sharaf def. Kayley Leonard (H) - 3-1

No. 3 Alyssa Mehta (H) def. Julia Le Coq - 3-0

No. 4 Anna Kimberley def. Katherine Tutrone (H) - 3-1

No. 5 Michelle Gemmell (H) def. Salma El Defrawy - 3-0

No. 6 Jennifer Haley def. Sue Ann Yong (H) - 3-0

No. 7 Saumya Karki (H) def. Sachika Balvani - 3-0

No. 8 Dileas MacGowan (H) def. Sachika Balvani - 3-0

No. 9 Sophie Mehta (H) def. Karolina Holinkova - 3-0