Sobhy Earns Player, Rookie of the Year; Way Named Coach of the Year

Sobhy Earns Player, Rookie of the Year; Way Named Coach of the Year

Sobhy and Harvard's top flight their first-career All-Ivy honors (Gil Talbot).

PRINCETON, N.J. – Freshman Sabrina Sobhy earned both Ivy League Rookie of the Year and Player of the Year honors, as announced by the conference today. Kayley Leonard and Alyssa Mehta join Sobhy on the All-Ivy team, while Mike Way, the Gregory Lee '87 and Russell Ball '88 Endowed Coach for Squash at Harvard University, was named Coach of the Year.

Sobhy tallied a 10-2 record playing exclusively at the No. 1 position and registered a 6-0 output in Ivy League matches. Sobhy earns Harvard's fifth-straight Ivy League Player of the Year honors, continuing sister Amanda Sobhy's '15 streak from 2012-15. Sobhy becomes Harvard's first Rookie of the Year since Amanda garnered the honors in 2012.

Fellow freshman Kayley Leonard also tallied a 6-0 mark in Ivy League matches, primarily playing at the No. 2 position en route to a 12-2 record. Leonard earned the first two wins of her career at the No. 1 position before concluding the season at the No. 2 spot.

Alyssa Mehta posted a 13-2 record in her sophomore campaign, going 5-1 in Ancient Eight matches to earn her first-career All-Ivy honors. Mehta tabbed the majority of her wins at the No. 3 position, while she also secured a victory at each position in the top flight for the Crimson this season.

Way earned his second-straight Coach of the Year nod after guiding Harvard to its 16th national championship, leading the Crimson to its fourth Howe Cup in six seasons,  becoming the fastest head coach to win four national championships. Harvard also reaped its 20th Ivy League Championship, capturing its fourth title in the past seven seasons with an undefeated 7-0 mark in Ancient Eight matches.

Player of the Year
Sabrina Sobhy (Fr. – Harvard)

Rookie of the Year
Sabrina Sobhy (Fr. – Harvard)

Coach of the Year
Mike Way (Harvard)

First Team All-Ivy
Tanvi Khanna (So. – Columbia)
*Kayley Leonard (Fr. – Harvard)
Alyssa Mehta (So. – Harvard)
*Sabrina Sobhy (Fr. – Harvard)
*Anaka Alankamony (Jr. – Penn)
*Reeham Sedky (Fr. – Penn)
*Yan Xin Tan (Sr. – Penn)
*Olivia Fiechter (So. – Penn)
Maria Elena Ubina (Jr. – Princeton)
*Jenny Scherl (Jr. – Yale)

*Unanimous selection