Women’s Swimming and Diving Earns 17 All-Ivy Awards; Wriede Morawski '92 Captures Second Straight Coach-of-the-Year Award

Harvard earned 17 all-Ivy League honors (Photo Courtesy: Derik Hamilton).
Harvard earned 17 all-Ivy League honors (Photo Courtesy: Derik Hamilton).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard women's swimming and diving team earned 17 all-Ivy League honors, including seven first-team accolades, the conference announced today. Stephanie Wriede Morawski '92, The Costin Family Head Coach for Harvard Women's Swimming and Diving, meanwhile, was named the Ivy League Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

First-year Samantha Shelton picked up three all-Ivy first-team awards after winning the 200-yard freestyle, backstroke and individual medley. The San Antonio, Texas, native also swam legs on two first- and second-team all-league relay teams (first team: 400 free, 800 free; second team: 200 free, 400 medley).

Rounding out the Harvard individual first-teamers was Miki Dahlke, who was recognized for her efforts the 500 free and the 100 butterfly. The junior also was a part of two first-team relay teams (400 free, 800 free) and one second-team relay (200 free). Dahlke, meanwhile, was a second-team performer in the 100 free.

Shelton and Dahlke were one-half of two first-team relay teams. Joining them on the 400-free squad was Mei Lynn Colby, who swam the opening leg, and Kennidy Quist, who went third. Helena Moreno and Sonia Wang represented the finishing portion of the 800 free.

As for those on the second team, Colby led the way with two individual accolades (50 free, 100 back) and swam the first leg on a trio of second-team-performing relays (200 free, 200 medley, 400 medley).

Other individual second-team honorees include Helena Moreno (1,000 free), Michelle Owens (400 IM), Marcella Ruppert-Gomez (1,650 free) and Sonia Wang (200 IM). Harvard's 200 free, 200 medley and 400 medley relay teams also garnered second-team recognition.

Wriede Morawski '92, meanwhile, was voted by her peers as the Ivy League Coach of the Year. The back-to-back award winner comes on the heels of Harvard's second consecutive Ivy League title and the fourth in the last six seasons. During her tenure, Wriede Morawski has led the Crimson to seven league championships.

All-Ivy League First Team

Miki Dahlke - 500-Yard Freestyle

Miki Dahlke – 100-Yard Butterfly

Samantha Shelton – 200-Yard Freestyle

Samantha Shelton – 200-Yard Backstroke

Samantha Shelton – 200-Yard Individual Medley

400-Yard Freestyle Relay (Mei Lynn Colby, Samantha Shelton, Kennidy Quist, Miki Dahlke)

800-Yard Freestyle Relay (Miki Dahlke, Samantha Shelton, Helena Moreno, Sonia Wang)

All-Ivy League Second Team

Mei Lynn Colby – 50-Yard Freestyle

Mei Lynn Colby – 100-Yard Backstroke

Miki Dahlke – 100-Yard Freestyle

Helena Moreno – 1,000-Yard Freestyle

Michelle Owens – 400-Yard Individual Medley

Marcella Ruppert-Gomez – 1,650-Yard Freestyle

Sonia Wang – 200-Yard Individual Medley

200-Yard Freestyle Relay (Mei Lynn Colby, Kennidy Quist, Samantha Shelton, Miki Dahlke)

200-Yard Medley Relay (Mei Lynn Colby, Ingrid Wall, Brittany Usinger, Kennidy Quist)

400-Yard Medley Relay (Mei Lynn Colby, Jaycee Yegher, Miki Dahlke, Samantha Shelton)

Ivy League Coach of the Year

Stephanie Wriede Morawski '92