Cross Country Names 2018 Captains at Annual Banquet

Cross Country Names 2018 Captains at Annual Banquet

Juniors Erin Dietz, Malia Ellington, and sophomore Charlie Davis will serve as captains of the 2018 Harvard cross country team. (Brian Panoff)

Harvard cross country honored the 2017 team at its annual awards banquet held last night.

Jason Saretsky, The William W. "Bill" McCurdy Director of Track and Field/Cross Country, announced the captains of the 2018 team. Juniors Malia Ellington and Erin Dietz will lead the women's team, while sophomore Charlie Davis will captain the men's team.

Associate head coach Alex Gibby presented the season ending awards at the banquet. On the women's team, the Kate Wiley Women's Most Outstanding Performer Award went to freshman Abbe Goldstein, who was Harvard's top finisher in three races this season, including the Ivy Cross Country Heptagonal Championships.

The Jerry Kanter Improvement Award went to Kathryn Gillespie, whose strong season culminated in her team leading performance at the NCAA Northeast Regional, placing 43rd overall.

On the men's team, freshman Hugo Milner earned the J.D. "Don" French '56 Memorial Cross Country Award, given to the team member who best combined the qualities of team inspiration, enthusiasm, improvement and ardent belief in the values of sports and athletics at Harvard. Milner earned USTFCCCA All-Region honors and Second Team All-Ivy recognition after placing 16th at NCAA Regionals and 11th at Ivy Heps.

Junior Collin Price earned the Jaako Mikkola Award which recognizes the team member who, through continued and conscientious effort for team success, has shown noteworthy improvement in physical performance. Price was Harvard's second best performer at Ivy Heps, placing 38th overall, his best showing at the conference championship meet.